PDA

View Full Version : developmental delays-and classes

Kate
05-03-2009, 01:08 PM
I'm wondering what you guys do with your kids who are dd and signing them up for things like Sunday school or other class things that are usually separated by age/grade. Mitchell is 4 but developmentally 2-3. I know it is a personal decision-but what do you guys do? I haven't signed him up for Sunday school yet because I just couldn't decide what to do-do I just throw him in w/his peers or do I put him in the younger group? What do you do?

bryantem
05-03-2009, 03:31 PM
I have no idea- Addisyn is still so young. We are hoping to start little gym soon and I will be signing her up as a 4 month old, not as a 7 month old. This class has kids agrs 4-10 months, but developmentally, she is about 3 months.

Niff
05-03-2009, 03:35 PM
I have no experience in this arena yet, but what I think I would do is put my child in with the group he/she most identifies with. By doing that, you know the activities aren't going over his head and that he's able to feel "part of the group".

TommysDad
05-03-2009, 06:24 PM
I think it depends on 1.) the child, 2.) what the parents want, 3.) if the child needs extra help, are parents willing to be an aid (because I know our Sunday school classrooms have a hard enough time finding teachers to volunteer), 4.) what the instuctors/directors of the program think, and 5.) what the program itself is like.