PDA

View Full Version : Capping/decann questions

JWorthington
04-22-2009, 08:41 AM
We are scheduled to take Sam in for his capping trial at the end of May and I just had a couple of questions for those who had taken this route to decann.

1) when the child is capped do they cover the entire stoma with tape to make sure they have a proper seal, or do they simply put a cap over the trach tube?

2) After decan, how long is a dressing required over the stoma (Sam's stoma is unlikely to close fully on it's own so he will require stoma closure surgery)

Many thanks
Julie x:)

KJKK8437
04-22-2009, 09:15 AM
Julie -- I have no experience with how this kind of decan may be done, but when we were going in to try ours, I found that GOSH has a great parent guide online for how they decann. It also had some great information on post-decan stoma issues, like secretions and dressings. Of course, as we all know, every hospital can be so different, but I found the article interesting.

It looks like the website has changed since I found the site, but I think this is the same article. http://www.ich.ucl.ac.uk/gosh_families/information_sheets/tracheostomy_ward_decannulation/tracheostomy_ward_decannulation_families_booklet.h tml

Isaac'sMomandDad
04-22-2009, 10:48 AM
Julie,

For Isaac's capping trial, they actually downsized to a smaller trach, then put a plastic cap to cover it. It was pretty easy to remove the cap if he was having problems, just screwed on and off.

As far as stoma, his was surgically closed with repair. For others that I have seen, just some routine dressings and water precautions (like that will be a big deal after a trach) until it closes up or has to be closed.

Lara

faywrayy
04-22-2009, 12:15 PM